13 American Colonies

A colony is a place where people from other countries have settled outside their home country and this place is governed by their home country. By the mid-1700s England had set up 13 colonies along the East Coast of America.

There were three groups of colonies of the US-based on the way people lived in these colonies.


Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts were the colonies in the northeast. Here people came from England mostly for religious freedom. However, living conditions here were tough. The soil was rocky, and the climate was cold hence cultivation was not an option for them. So, they switched to seafood and become sailors. Their ships were made from lumber in the area.

Middle colonies

New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware were the home to Germans, Irish and Dutch. The weather conditions were better here and many crops such as wheat were grown here.

Southern colonies

Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, made up the southern colonies. The climate here was much warmer and had really good soil which helped them to grow all sorts of crops. Their economy was based on agriculture.

A personal plan for Your child is just one step away!

What’s Science Advantage with E-Blox?
Studies show concrete, physical experience is an integral part of learning and engages more of their brain. With Science Advantage with E-Blox, you add a physical, “real-world” component to your child’s digital learning. Brick-compatible electronic construction sets let them build 3D circuits with lights, sounds, motion, tactile stimulation, and other fun stuff that engages more of their senses!
Learn more   →
Enter coupon code

Note: You will not be billed until your free trial has ended and can cancel at any time. No strings attached.